LIDAR lite gives superman vision!

I have some fantastic news! I was hacking my LIDAR lite range finder, trying to improve its precision and scanning a region near my wall, using a servo controlled base. I started having some strange images that looked like a human shade… then I realized the image wasn’t from my side of the wall! Here is one of the last images, after a few hours of testing and improvement:

wall-imageOn the other side of the wall is my kids room. I asked her to stay near the wall, on her side of the room and this is the result. Isn’t this fantastic? Ok its a plaster wall but anyway its great. I’ll have to spend more time with this but I think I can make a wall scanner with a $80 device! What kind of laser are this guys using? To be investigated…

Author: pedro_nf

Independent contractor on IT solutions and automation

Leave a Reply

